Order LOTR Books Online Here...

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Members of the Fellowship of the Ring

The Company of the Ring (In the books, Tolkien usually refers to the group as "Company" instead of "Fellowship") is composed of 9 members joined together in a quest to the land of Mordor to destroy the One Ring.

The fellowship was formed during a council with Elrond, the Elven Master of Rivendell , in which, Frodo had offered to take the Ring to Mount Doom. He was accompanied by several other people.

Members of the Fellowship

Frodo Baggins (Hobbit) - Ringbearer; heir of Bilbo

Samwise Gamgee (Hobbit) -"Sam"; Frodo's gardener

Meriadoc Brandybuck (Hobbit) - "Merry"; Cousin of Frodo and Pippin

Peregrin Took (Hobbit) - "Pippin"; youngest; cousin of Frodo and Merry

Gandalf the Grey - Istari wizard and mentor of Frodo; leader of the fellowship

Legolas (Elf) - Archer; Son of Thranduil, King of Silvan Elves from Mirkwood

Gimli (Dwarf) Ax wielder. Son of Gloin

Aragorn (Man) - Heir of Isildur; Ranger of the North

Boromir (Man)- Son of Denethor, Steward of Gondor